Explaining Majoritarian Misogyny

4 Aug

The necessity of patriarchy explained. Women must be kept on a tight leash or they will destroy civilisation.

10 Responses to “Explaining Majoritarian Misogyny”

  1. tarnishedsophia September 3, 2013 at 10:29 am #

    An interesting take on this topic. However, it loses a bit of respect from me, in that the author makes use of JudeoChristian and Greek myths to prove his point. While I don’t fully agree with the premise, it would have made it more potent if actual historical figures were used. (The Trojan War did occur, of course, but there’s no record of Helen being a real person. In fact, there’s recent evidence to suggest that Homer wrote The Iliad with quite a few exaggerations for the purpose of showing what would happen if the city-states dissolved completely.)

    • infowarrior1 September 4, 2013 at 1:55 am #

      I am interested to see why you consider Judeo-Christianity as a myth. alot of events in scripture as far as I know line up with history.

      And concerning Greek myths, they highlight truths even though the characters are fiction. I also don’t think ancient historians who wrote history were aiming for accuracy as much as we do in the modern era.

      • tarnishedsophia September 4, 2013 at 2:12 am #

        I don’t consider ALL of JudeoChristianity a myth. I’ve read many translations of the Bible, the Gnostic gospels, and parts of translated Korans and Torahs. I actually agree that there is a good deal of real history and ancient culture contained in these manuscripts.

        But I am not a Jew, Muslim, or Christian. I have been Wiccan since I was 13…so 16 years now. As such, I consider some parts of these manuscripts to be myths, like Adam & Eve, Noah’s Ark, Jonah & the “whale”, etc. To me, the idea of a magical tree with forbidden fruit and talking serpents is on the same level as Zeus turning into a swan to have sex with a beautiful maiden. They may be stories meant to teach lessons and explain occurrences in nature…but they aren’t real.

        As for the Greeks and Romans, they actually had very good record keeping and even took censuses. Of course, much of it was destroyed or has deteriorated. I agree that they highlight truths, or act as a way for a metaphor/analogy to survive censorship.

        The only thing I objected to was the other author using fictitious characters to prove points, as though they were actual people whose actions had implications to the world around them. If one is going to use examples of historical actions taken by others to support one’s premise…shouldn’t those people be real?

      • infowarrior1 September 4, 2013 at 2:22 am #

        Then I am agreed. You are also well aware the foundation of Christianity is the resurrection and the gospels. If the resurrection didn’t happen Christianity is all bull.

      • tarnishedsophia September 4, 2013 at 2:40 am #

        Yes, indeed.

        Perhaps it would be prudent of me to let you know that my grandparents and great grandparents (mother side) were Jewish…I was raised Catholic by my mother/Born Again by my father til age 13…have been to a Reform synagogue, a Buddhist monastery, a Kingdom Hall, and had 3 friends who were Hindu. And that’s not even getting into the various Protestant friends I’ve had thusfar.

        For better or worse, I’m well versed in religious beliefs and practices for a layperson/nontheologian.

        Interestingly, I do believe that Jesus was a real person, and he is often revered in Wicca as an ancient spiritual leader with very good ideas and progressive thoughts. I can’t recall the name of the book presently, but there was a marvelous work done that described exactly how Jesus might have truly undergone a “resurrection”. It is all scientifically based, and in following up the quoted studies, I could find no holes in the research or data. If I find the book in my collection tomorrow, I’ll be sure to put the name of it here.

      • tarnishedsophia September 4, 2013 at 2:27 am #

        For example, if he wanted to give examples of women who were cruel or destructive to society, Queen Mary, Elizabeth Bathory, Mary Ann Cotten, and Ilse Koch would’ve been good choices. They were all horrible, all sociopaths, and (most importantly) all real and well documented people.

      • infowarrior1 September 4, 2013 at 2:30 am #

        True we do well to use real historical figures. You should put it forward to the author of the article. To make him aware.

      • tarnishedsophia September 4, 2013 at 2:43 am #

        Do you believe him to be open to constructive criticism? I’d not want to have my first interaction with someone be a bitter one…

      • infowarrior1 September 4, 2013 at 10:27 am #

        Yep. He is pretty reasonable.

  2. tarnishedsophia September 4, 2013 at 3:42 am #

    In fact, it’s pretty doubtful that I’ll “make him aware” of this. Feel free to use my examples if you wish though…

Leave a Reply

