Self-pity is for the weak

16 Apr

To realize what a loser one is. To fear. This dark cycle of self-pity I used to engage in and still strive to overcome. I used to think everyone at my school hated me. I cried and cried out of self-pity. To face hostility also led me to cry in the dark corner. Even now I struggle to hold back tears of self-pity.

 

But you know what? Self-pity is for the weak. It doesn’t cause growth nor is it self improvement.  It is a comfort zone truly I created for my self. It is easy to wallow so easy. Why should I remain in this state despite all the opportunities for growth? Does such a mindset overcome adversity?

 

A man fights, a man overcomes or he dies trying. Readers I need your help to not regress. Help me to be strong. For this is my wish.

9 Responses to “Self-pity is for the weak”

  1. Will S. April 16, 2014 at 3:50 am #

    Brother, I will pray for you. Please pray for me, too.

    • infowarrior1 April 16, 2014 at 3:53 am #

      Thanks bro.

      • Will S. April 16, 2014 at 3:57 am #

        You’re welcome. And thank you, too.

      • infowarrior1 April 16, 2014 at 4:02 am #

        What shall I pray about though?

      • infowarrior1 April 16, 2014 at 4:06 am #

        What problems do you want me to pray about?

      • Will S. April 16, 2014 at 4:10 am #

        Strength in avoiding certain temptations; encouragement in perseverance in job-hunting, avoiding discouragement.

      • Will S. April 16, 2014 at 4:11 am #

        I’d prefer to be non-specific like that; the Lord knows all our needs, anyway.

      • Will S. April 16, 2014 at 4:13 am #

        i.e. I’d prefer to be no more specific than that.

        But with the theme of this post, I’d also pray for help in avoiding self-pity, as well.

        And, I will pray for that for you, as well as for the Lord’s help in the other challenge you mentioned in the other post.

        Cheers, bro.

  2. A April 16, 2014 at 7:18 am #

    1 Peter 5:7-10

    Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.

    Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. Resist him, standing firm in the faith, because you know that the family of believers throughout the world is undergoing the same kind of sufferings.

    And the God of all grace, who called you to his eternal glory in Christ, after you have suffered a little while, will himself restore you and make you strong, firm and steadfast.

Leave a Reply

